Serial communication with Atapi

May 7, 2013 at 2:03 PM
Can i use Atapi with a data modem to recieve a call and handel some serial communication.

I just the monitor demo. I can connect with a modem but how can i stream data from the COMM.

any idea's
Coordinator
May 7, 2013 at 2:36 PM
Edited May 7, 2013 at 2:36 PM
You can, however the TSP needs to support it (Unimodem does). You use TAPI to just dial and connect the call and then TapiCall.GetCommHandle() or TapiCall.GetCommStream() to get the underlying handle or TapiCall.GetCommDevice() to get the ID which you can then open on your own.

Mark Smith
May 7, 2013 at 3:29 PM
Thanks Mark,

Is it to much to ask for a code snippet. This is my first project with this Tapi. The drivers are unimodem or modem specific so that should work.

Any help is welcome
Coordinator
May 7, 2013 at 4:46 PM
Well, I don't have a modem but this is probably close to what you want -- no real error checking and no logic for data is present - it just dials a call, waits for a connect and then sends a CR/LF and prints the response. Give it a shot.

using System;
using JulMar.Atapi;
using System.IO;

namespace SampleComm
{
class Program
{
    static void Main(string[] args)
    {
        string phoneNumber = "2145551212";
        if (args.Length > 0)
            phoneNumber = args[0];

using (TapiManager mgr = new TapiManager("EnumTapiLines"))
        {
            try
            {
                if (!mgr.Initialize())
                    Console.WriteLine("TAPI failed to find any lines or phones to manage.");

TapiLine modemLine = null;

if (mgr.Lines.Length > 0)
                {
                    foreach (TapiLine line in mgr.Lines)
                    {
                        if ((line.Capabilities.MediaModes & MediaModes.DataModem) != 0)
                        {
                            modemLine = line;
                            break;
                        }
                    }
                }
                else